NDConnect Undergraduate Research Competition

NDConnect 2015 graphics

Please join us for the poster session competition! Fourteen finalists have been invited to participate in the 2015 NDConnect undergraduate research competition.

Friday, October 23
2:15 - 5:00 pm
Jordan Hall Galleria


  • Sara Boukdad (Notre Dame):  Solubility of uranyl phosphates in nanocluster forming environments
  • Elizabeth Dresselhaus (U. of Pennsylvania):  Trap state measurement in quantum dot photovoltaic cells
  • Emily Eikey (Allegheny College):  Determining the apparent equilibrium dissociation constant between DOIDA and Cu (II)
  • Mark Hartwig (U. of Michigan):  The effect of changing sea ice features on arctic snow composition
  • David Heydari (Northwestern):  High-power quantum cascade lasers with angled cavities
  • Trey Lee (U. of Virginia):  Characterization and optimization of 2D transitional metal dichalcogenides synthesized by atmospheric pressure chemical vapor deposition
  • Monica Ohnsorg (Hope College):  Understanding fundamental metal-organic thin film growth to further integration into applied devices
  • Aleksander Piasecki (Penn State):  The effect of ionic solution composition and concentration on the stability of titanium dioxide nanoparticles
  • Joana Sipe (Arizona State):  Synthesis and lifecycle analysis of layer-by-layer silver nanoparticle coated fabrics
  • Jiechen Wang (U. of Illinois):  Kirigami-inspired, 3D assembly of silicon nanomembranes by compressive buckling
  • Thomas Werkmeister (U. of Pittsburgh):  Fabrication of molybdenum disulfide (MoS2) atomic layers via chemical vapor deposition
  • Ethiyal Raj Wilson (U. of Nebraska):  Boron carbide for neutron voltaics in deep space missions and other applications
  • Jacob Wisser (Penn State):  Electric and thermoelectric transport in Bi2Te3/Sb2Te3 short-period superlattices
  • Yi Zhang (U. of Wisconsin):  Direct and reliable CVD/PVD synthesis of WSe2, and heterostructure nanoplates

Sponsors for NDConnect are Altera, Coherent, HRL Laboratories, International Rectifier, MicroLink Devices, Murata Electronics, Ocean Optics, Olympus, Raytheon, Serim Research, Texas Instruments, Toshiba, and ThorLabs. Representatives from some of these companies will serve as judges for the event.