Notre Dame's Center for Nano Science and Technology

NDnano is a world-class, collaborative research center that includes faculty from seven departments across the colleges of Engineering and Science. The Center is focused on developing, characterizing, and applying new nanotechnology-based materials, processes, devices, and solutions that will better society.

NDnano’s mission is to promote, enable, and advance multidisciplinary nanotechnology education and research to include:

  • defining, manipulating, and controlling the properties of new nano-materials
  • collaborating with peer universities, industry, and government to accelerate advances in the field of nano science
  • developing solutions and applications that help address society's global issues while representing a force for good in the discussion on the ethics and possible societal impacts of the new science


Prof. Brian Baker’s lab receives $4 million NIH grant for precision immunotherapy research

Author: Tammi Freehling

Immunologists are changing how we look at cancer by studying how our immune system plays a role in treating cancer. Brian Baker, Ph.D. and his lab in the Harper Cancer Research Institute and Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry were recently awarded a $4 million, 5-year grant from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) to study how they can best engineer a patient’s own T cells in their immune system to target the patient’s specific cancer.

Read More

Datta Named Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors

Author: Nina Welding

On Tuesday (Dec. 13) the National Academy of Inventors (NAI) announced its 2016 NAI Fellows, including Suman Datta, Chang Family Professor of Engineering Innovation at the University of Notre Dame. Datta focuses on the physics and applications of novel nanoelectronic devices for energy efficient computing and storage systems. He also pursues demonstration of computing substrates that mimic Nature’s “natural” ways of computing.

Read More


NDnano Center Meeting


Location: McNeill Room, LaFortune


Prof. Alan Seabaugh, Electrical Engineering
"Electron Device Horizon"

Jessica Sieff, Assistant Director, Media Relations.
Jessica works with the College of Science, College of Engineering, and Notre Dame Research to help promote the research and expertise of the faculty to media. She will discuss her role in getting interesting stories to the media and helping to amplify stories through other channels (like ND in the News, etc.).…

Read More

Naughton Fellowship Deadline: Master's in Ireland Applications


University of Notre Dame undergraduates and wish to pursue a Master's degree in Ireland may apply for a Naughton Fellowship to study at one of four Irish universities. Notre Dame students can choose from a diverse range of programs offered at either Dublin City University, Trinity College Dublin, University College Cork, and University College Dublin.…

Read More