NDnano seminar: NSF’s Advanced Manufacturing Program and Nanomanufacturing Research


Dr. Khershed P. Cooper
Program Director for Advanced Manufacturing
CMMI Division of the Engineering Directorate at NSF


CMMI Division’s new Advanced Manufacturing (AM) program is an amalgam of previous manufacturing research programs that explored nanomanufacturing, additive or subtractive manufacturing, manufacturing machines or materials engineering or cybermanufacturing. The AM program seeks new ideas in, across and outside these domain areas. It encourages interdisciplinary proposals that bring manufacturing to new application areas, and that incorporate challenges and approaches outside the customary manufacturing portfolio to broaden the impact of America’s advanced manufacturing research. In this presentation, the AM program’s goals and its participation in cross-divisional activities are described. The talk also covers basic research achievements in nanomanufacturing.


Khershed Cooper

Dr. Khershed P. Cooper is a Program Director for Advanced Manufacturing in the CMMI Division of the Engineering Directorate at NSF. He directs basic research activities in advanced manufacturing, specifically, nanomanufacturing-related projects. He is a disciplinary program officer for the ERC program, where he directs research in systems-based nanomanufacturing. He is a NSF representative for NSTC's Nano Science Engineering & Technology (NSET) Sub-committee. He contributes to the development of the Manufacturing USA Institutes. Prior to joining NSF, he was a Program Officer for the Manufacturing Science program at ONR. Concurrently, he was a Senior Research Metallurgist at NRL. Dr. Cooper received his MS and PhD from University of Wisconsin – Madison. He has nearly 200 invited talks, 70 contributed presentations, 150 publications, one book, and one patent. He has sponsored symposia and workshops in additive and nano manufacturing. He is a Fellow of ASM International and a recipient of its prestigious Burgess Memorial Award.

Hosted by: Professor Jennifer Schaefer,