Materials Science and Engineering Program Organization

The Materials Science and Engineering doctoral program is governed by three committees: the Executive Committee, the Steering Committee, and the Academic Committee.

Executive Committee

Responsibilities: Strategic planning, vision, and graduate fellowship selection.

Faculty Members

Peter Burns
Peter C. BurnsCivil & Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences


Ruilan Guo
Ruilan GuoChemical & Biomolecular Engineering


Boldizsar Janko
Boldizsar JankoPhysics & Astronomy


Masaru Kuno
Masaru Kuno, Committee Co-chairChemistry & Biochemistry


Glen Niebur
Glen NieburAerospace & Mechanical Engineering; Bioengineering


Alan Seabaugh
Alan Seabaugh, Committee ChairElectrical Engineering


Steering Committee

Responsibilities: Building community, doctoral thesis approval, raising visibility, and attracting top students.

Faculty Members

Kyle Doudrick
Kyle DoudrickCivil & Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences


Anthony Hoffman
Anthony Hoffman, Co-chairElectrical Engineering


Dafei Jin
Dafei Jin Physics & Astronomy


Prashant Kamt
Prashant KamatChemistry & Biochemistry


William Phillip
William PhillipChemical & Biomolecular Engineering


Ryan Roeder
Ryan Roeder, Committee ChairAerospace & Mechanical Engineering; Bioengineering


Academic Committee

Responsibilities: Refine the interdisciplinary curriculum to promote Notre Dame materials research.

Faculty Members

Badih Assaf
Badih AssafPhysics & Astronomy


Patrick Brewick
Patrick BrewickCivil & Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences


Christopher Hinkle
Christopher HinkleElectrical Engineering


Adam Jaffe
Adam Jaffe Chemistry & Biochemistry


Paul McGinn
Paul McGinn, Committee ChairChemical & Biomolecular Engineering


Svetlana Neretina
Svetlana Neretina, Committee Co-chairAerospace & Mechanical Engineering


Need more information?

For more information on the Materials Science and Engineering Program, please contact us at MSE-list@nd.edu or 574-631-6470.